About Our Association


The Wellington Provincial Fire Brigades Gold Star Association was formed as a result of a meeting held at Pahiatua on 22nd April 1962.

At the first annual general meeting, which was held at Palmerston North on 4th May 1963, Mr W J (Bill) Drieberg was elected as President. Bill held this position for the next 3 years. Mr A S (Scotty) Annand was elected as Secretary at that first AGM.

The objectives of the association are to create a bond of friendship and foster close liaison between members and kindred Organisations and to welcome and support new gold star recipients.

The Wellington Provincial Fire Brigades Gold Star Association extends from Wellington in the south to East Cape in the north across and to Mount Ruapehu and then across to Waverley. There are some 750 current members. The Gold Star Associations are one of the very few groups with the Fire Service that truly recognises the efforts of the wives of gold star holders by giving them membership of the association.

The Association holds an annual conference and social each year at various locations throughout the Province. The conferences are normally held during April each year and are hosted by various Brigades. During these events we look forward to welcoming new members and renewing acquaintances with other members. We also take the time to acknowledge those who have attended their final call.


2018 Executive

Back Row:  V.P. John Rowe, Patron Herb Carberry, Secretary John May, S.V.P. Gary Weaver, V.P. Mike Aamodt

Front Row: I.P.P. Ray Huxford, President Dennis Bristow, V.P. Tony Swain, J.V.P. Tony Adie

Executive Contacts 2018 to 2019

The Past Presidents Board showing all past Presidents of the Association since its formation in 1962.