Welcome to Our Website

The Wellington Provincial Gold Star Association consists of over 700 serving and retired fire service personnel who are recipients of the United Fire Brigade’s Association of New Zealand 25 year gold star presented for service within the New Zealand Fire Service.

2018 AGM held at Eastbourne – 13 to 15 April 

The Executive Team – 2018 to 2019

Back Row:  V.P. John Rowe, Patron Herb Carberry, Secretary John May, S.V.P. Gary Weaver, V.P. Mike Aamodt

 Front Row: I.P.P. Ray Huxford, President Dennis Bristow, V.P. Tony Swain, J.V.P. Tony Adie

What is in our Website

Our site has a number of sections where you can find out more information, read reports, get the latest news on upcoming events and purchase some of our specialist products. On our Reports page

  • Association rules
  • Meeting Minutes
  • Upcoming Conferences
  • Recent Recipients
  • Upcoming Recipients
  • Officeholders

Latest News Flash

 20 August 2018

It is with deep regret that I advise of the passing of Stuart Witheal Thomas

Stuart passed away on Saturday morning 18th August 2018 in Australia.

I understand Stuart commenced his fire service career at Porirua before moving on to Auckland and was a Fire Safety Officer in Auckland for a number of years and also served with the Kumeu Brigade

He also served at National headquarters in the early days after the formation of the New Fire Service Commission .

Along side of this he spent time in the Pacific region working with Fire Authorities in the islands.

At this sad time we extend our sincere condolences’ to the Stuart’s family and friends.

I have no funeral details, apart that it will be held in Brisbane, Australia.


John May

 16 August 2018

It is with deep regret that I advise you of the passing of Ex Assistant Fire Commander Michael ( Mike ) Monaghan, Wellington Fire Brigade.

Mike passed away on 13th August after  a short illness.

Mike was well know in the Wellington area for many years with his Fire service career.

After leaving the New Zealand Fire Service Mike became a well known figure in the Fire Protection/ Equipment  Industry  as the South Pacific Rep for Phillips  and Smith for many years.

He will be well remembered  for this role as he traveled extensively throughout  the country and Pacific Region and  was the go to man for equipment and related items with  Phillips and Smith.

At this sad time we extend our sincere condolences to Margaret and family along with Mike’s friends.

A private family service will be held. Donations to the Arohanui Hospice, Palmerston North would be appreciated.


John May